Wings 3D Development Forum
Hi.. im new to all this - Printable Version

+- Wings 3D Development Forum (https://www.wings3d.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Wings 3D (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Gallery (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Hi.. im new to all this (/showthread.php?tid=1067)

Hi.. im new to all this - theprideroc - 02-10-2015

I just made my first model and have no clue how to capture a shot to put it on the boards or how to get actual textures into wings. Would greatly appreciate it if someone could clue me in

this is what I am working on
[Image: screenshotfront.png]

and
[Image: Screenshot2.png]

[Image: side1.png]

[Image: Screenshot3.png]

RE: Hi.. im new to all this - Mishou - 02-10-2015

Hello and welcome!

On toolbar go Tools>Screenshot in order to take a screenshot of your work. After you've taken the screenshot, check the outliner window, select the image, right-click on it and choose export.
Now on texturing, I would say to go first with a simple cube in order to get the general idea. So, create a cube, select it, right-click>.UV Mapping. A window will appear, AutoUV segmenting. I work with edges here so I will refer to these, so select edge editing and select some edges in order to unwrap the cube. I will not tell what edges, this will be your task Smile After selecting the necessary edges right-click>Mark edges for cut, again right-click>Continue>Unfolding. A new window appear, AutoUV. Scale, rotate and move the unfolded cube until you are satisfied. After that, right-click>Create texture. A option window pop out, look around, make your checks, for a cube I would say just press ok and ta-da. In the outliner you'll see your uv texture, export it and draw on it that awesome texture which makes all cubes proud.
Hope you got the idea!
Sorry for my english, not my language, and if I made any missteps in my very quick howto, please, correct me!