Wings 3D Development Forum
Vector Groups - Printable Version

+- Wings 3D Development Forum (https://www.wings3d.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Wings 3D (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Programming (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Thread: Vector Groups (/showthread.php?tid=1117)

Pages: 1 2

Vector Groups - Namrata - 03-25-2015

Hi,

I am new to wings3d development, and I need help getting started with the plug-in I am trying to develop.

I was wondering if there is any way of defining vector groups in wings as we do in blender. If not what is the best way to replicate something similar??

RE: Vector Groups - ggaliens - 03-25-2015

First you should define what you vector group is (for us ... your audience) and tell us how you plan to use them. Then we might be able to better assist with ideas.

There is some prior art in Wings3D world that would call a collection of adjacent faces ... a "region". I wonder if this is close to what you speak of.

RE: Vector Groups - Namrata - 03-25-2015

The Vertex Groups could be used to tag vertices as belonging to a certain part of the mesh, think of the legs or seat of a chair, the whole chair, the hinges of a door, etc.
So basically I want to define groups of some vertices that have the same properties.

RE: Vector Groups - ggaliens - 03-26-2015

There are many ways to get this done.

You can use wings plugin state. You could use vertex colors if your didn't think those already occupied.

You could use gb_sets if the values are somewhat transient/volatile in memory.

And I think there is an offical way to do it with vertex attribute lookup. I think see how colors and uvs are stored per vertex and do the same for your properties and SAVE/LOAD might be free of charge.

RE: Vector Groups - Namrata - 03-26-2015

Thanks, that seems to be something I can use. However when reading the source code i came across the function wings_vertex:fold(...).