Wings 3D Development Forum
Making see-through things. - Printable Version

+- Wings 3D Development Forum (https://www.wings3d.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Wings 3D (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Interface & Usage (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: Making see-through things. (/showthread.php?tid=207)

Making see-through things. - nurgle01099 - 02-28-2013

So I am just getting started in modeling, and I have a pretty good handle on the basic controls of Wings3D, but I was wondering how to make things clear like if I wanted to make the leaves of a tree or a shrub or a window. I use gimp as a picture-manipulating software if it helps. Thanks!

RE: Making see-through things. - oort - 02-28-2013

nurgle01099,
Welcome to Wings3D and 3D Modeling. To get objects clear/transparent you need to modify the material properties used on a model. To make things transparent when viewing in Wings3D just Materials > Opacity lowered to something less than 1.0. The lower you go the more transparent the object will be.

To get a rendered image which has transparent objects you have to first decide what rendering software you want to use. Wings3D comes with PovRay, Kerkythea, and Old YafRay plug-ins already installed. If you want to use the new and faster YafaRay you can get it on my website. Check the development forum for more information on the plugin.

After you choose your rendering software you have to set the material properties for that plugin under the material properties.

In the YafaRay plugin, I just added support for Transparency maps, which is what you would need for leaves. I haven't done enough testing to see how well it works on models with lots of leaves.

oort

RE: Making see-through things. - nurgle01099 - 02-28-2013