Wings 3D Development Forum
Using Wings3D for tattoos - Printable Version

+- Wings 3D Development Forum (https://www.wings3d.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Wings 3D (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Interface & Usage (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: Using Wings3D for tattoos (/showthread.php?tid=2826)

Using Wings3D for tattoos - Wulff - 06-18-2019

Good morning to all of you.

First off - sorry if this has been asked and answered before; I searched and didn't find anything.

I am a beginner at Daz3D Studio and I am looking for a program that can help me placing tattoos (or wounds or anything else, really) on characters.

This led me to Wings3D which might be able to do what I am looking for, though I haven't found it mentioned anywhere.

I am looking for a program that allows me to import a Daz3D character and present the character in 3D. Wings3D can certainly do this.

Then I would like to import a picture of - say - a tattoo (.png with alpha channel preferably) and place it anywhere on the character.

Finally I would like to be able to export the texture of the relevant body part(s) with the tattoo on. I would then be able to use the exported texture in Daz3D for placing the texture on any character I would like to.

The reason I want to do this is because it is extremely difficult to place a tattoo across the seams of a texture while working solely in Daz3D Studio.

As an example the body texture is "cut open" along the spine making it very difficult to place a tattoo on the back of a character, especially as the edges of the textures are curved so the tattoo can not simply be divided into two by cutting it down the middle - some distortion would be required.

So, my question is:
Can Wings3D help me do what I want?

If Wings3D is not the right tool for this, maybe someone can point me in the right direction.