Wings 3D Development Forum
I got stuck on tutorial - Printable Version

+- Wings 3D Development Forum (https://www.wings3d.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Wings 3D (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Interface & Usage (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: I got stuck on tutorial (/showthread.php?tid=306)

Pages: 1 2

I got stuck on tutorial - vitamin - 05-05-2013

Hello everyone,

I'm new to CG and Wings 3D so please have mercy on meWink

I was trying to follow this simple car modeling tutorial:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Wings_3D/Tutorials/Box_modeling_a_car_with_all_Quad_topography

And I got stuck on step saying:
Quote:Scale edge Radial | radial Z | Scale to point. Select same point as illustrated. Scale to 0%.
(Holding shift will make snapping to 0% easy.)
This is faster than two separate vertice flatten operations.

I cannot figure out how to make those two operations in one turn - 'scale radial Z' and 'scale to point'. I tried different ways but always end up with some badly deformed model like in picture below:

[Image: 27wy6a.png]

I'd appreciate it very much if someone could help me out. I really would like to finish this tutorial and start learning new things in Wings 3D.

Thank you in advance for your response.

RE: I got stuck on tutorial - Fonte Boa - 05-06-2013

Quote:I cannot figure out how to make those two operations in one turn - 'scale radial Z' and 'scale to point'.

With that edge selected, call context menu (right mouse button click) and:

(a) Click on .Scale Radial. command using left mouse button; then
(b) Click on .Radial Z. sub-command using right mouse button

At this moment, as you can see at work area botton, at Info Line bar, Wings will be waiting you to "Pick Point" before execute the command (usually this ever happens when you click on a command using right mouse button).